A Review of the Seven Deadly Sins in a Sales Pitch

May 5, 2011 at 4:32 pm Leave a comment

A Review of the Seven Deadly Sins in a Sales pitch.

As we all prepare for our sales pitch for next week, I thought it would be helpful to include a summary of what I found helpful in this article found on INC.com

The first sin is: Not Building Suspense.

There is nothing worse than telling someone your idea and they seem interested then they drop into the glossy eye look.

Now I’ll be the first to admit that I put people to sleep a lot, the good thing is that I am getting better at seeing when I’m doing it. My advice to you is not just take the advice of the article, but to sweat the infection of passion for your idea. I always am more interested in listening to people when they really care.

The second sin is: Being too available. One of the great things about being a student is that we are naïve about peoples time. Getting into the business world has really cured me of this idea that my idea is so great it can take all the time in the world. My advice is not to take a person’s time by figuring out what they need to hear not what you want to tell them.

The third sin is: Scaring People. I really did not get what the author was trying to say. It seemed like they didn’t recommend threats which is a “duh” statement. I interpreted the advice like this. Don’t kill with details that make people feel intimidated. The old adage of KISS comes to mind.

The fourth sin is:  BS the Expert

Its bad when you don’t know the details. It is worse when you build a case on falsification. The best application for us next week would be to not make up the details if we simply don’t know. I would rewrite this section and say that the best thing to do in these situations is to tell all. Just categorize what the tell all covers so you don’t waste time.

The fifth sin is: Being overly nice.

Interpreting this advice for us would be: let’s not walk into our presentation with a these guys will tear us apart attitude, but instead we should go in to see the new thing we can learn and the benefits of outside advice.

The sixth sin is: Quoting Dead People

I guess it is hard to understand why we can’t build seriousness of our content with a good quote. I do however see the wisdom; don’t get carried away by sentimentality. Take away advice, keep our information central to our own authoritative research and business knowledge.

The seventh sin is: Being Boring

I agree! The best way to be boring is to kill people with details and variations. This for me will be the hardest part of the whole presentation.  Getting the emotional appeal to work consistently will be the biggest challenge.

Entry filed under: Etc..

The Lessons From Hamilton Chase Thoughts on the Business Plan

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


