Web Developer

April 19, 2011 at 2:58 pm 2 comments

Since I began this class, I have been putting serious thought into starting my business. I started looking for a web designer, but I did not really know where to start. I was able to find guidance in The Art of the Start by Guy Kawasaki. In this book Guy Kawasaki talks about The Art of Bootstrapping. He says “think big and start small”. Under the section, Focus on Form, Not Function, Guy Kawasaki says “When spending money, always focus on the function you need, not the form it takes”.  Here are his tips to assess service providers:

  • Select a firm that specializes in the type of work you require.
  • Understand that at all times the right decision will be to pay more.
  • Check references of the individuals who are handling your business.
  • Negotiate everything
  • If you can’t stand the person you’ll be working with, switch people or switch firms.

I found a company that specializes in web development with over 25 years of experience. They are not the cheapest that I found, but they are willing to negotiate with me. The contract is set up so I am paying them to first set up the database to start collecting names, and then later set up the shopping cart and membership information. This is beneficial because if my business is not received the way I want it to be, I would not have spent too much money.  Some other companies wanted large sums of money upfront to complete the whole site. I have checked with some of the companies that they worked with, and they only had good things to say. I have also had a wonderful experience working with them. They actually gave me ideas that I am going to use. I am so excited that I am on my way to being a business owner!

Does anyone have any other advice to give me about working with a web developer?

Ruqiayah Madany

Entry filed under: Etc..

Marketing Mistakes Tweetdeck: An Amazing Resource

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nick George  |  April 19, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I’m glad to hear about your experience! One piece of advice I have for you is to make sure that if you go into an agreement with this development company, make sure you have clearly defined metrics (achievements) for what the company is going to do. You mentioned that the company is going to design a database for you. However, it should be clearly defined as to what the functionality of the database should be as a finished product. One area where people tend to neglect attention is when it comes to defining measurable outcomes in contacts (when it comes to technology from my experience). However, it sounds like you have done your research and have found a reputable organization. Let me know if I can be of any further help!

    Nick

    Reply
  • 2. alexandriamisr  |  April 28, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Thanks for the advice Nick.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


