Design Your Creative Workspace

April 11, 2011 at 10:09 pm 3 comments

Whether you are working out of your home or acquiring office space for your new business, it is important to make your space creative and unique. Too many businesses in corporate America are like a jail; employees are surrounded by cubicle dividers, poor florescent lighting, no windows, and plain carpet. This type of space hinders the ability for you and your employees to think creatively. In fact, working in a typical corporate America setting can often make you tired, or even depressed! This idea was also introduced at one of Josh Linkner’s presentations.

However, what if you are bootstrapping? What if you aren’t leasing or purchasing an office space? These were questions I had, so I started to think about how I could build a creative office environment in my home. I use my basement not only as a place of study, but perform work there as well. My basement is similar to corporate America – there is plain gray carpet, a drop ceiling, and white walls. Between working in my basement and my desk at work, I do not have any creative workspace. As a result, I think this has dampened my ability to think creative and apply unique approaches to situations.

(Forret, 2006)

I started to think, how could I make my basement work place more creative? One suggestion Linkner makes is to start off small by adding color and fun. I started this at my own desk. I bought some small gadgets to play with, such as BuckyBalls and a sand timer. I also started adding more color to my desk by placing pictures of loved ones on my desk and placing some colorful books and magazines on my bookshelf. I’ve also decided to stop using the overhead florescent lights, and start using desk lamps as they produce more “natural” light.

Although I’ve only made some minor changes, I’d have to say making these few changes to my desk has certainly changed my mood. The basement used to be the portrayed more as a dungeon, but I’m finding ways to make the space more unique and creative. Over time, I would like to get some more objects for my desk that are creative and colorful, as I think this will make the most dramatic improvement to my work space.

What can you do to “spice up” your workplace?

Nick

Entry filed under: Etc..

Josh Linkner Visit Mentoring: A Two Way Street

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alexandriamisr  |  April 18, 2011 at 2:55 am

    I think you can add a scented candle to your desk. Your sense of smell has a lot to do with you imagination.

    Reply
  • 2. alexandriamisr  |  April 18, 2011 at 2:57 am

    I think you can add a scented candle to your desk. Your sense of smell has a lot to do with your imagination.

    Reply
  • 3. Nick George  |  April 18, 2011 at 6:53 am

    I like the idea of having a candle too. I actually have a “stress relief” candle on my desk… how ironic! However, I generally can’t have something too strong because it might give me a headache, which could have a dramatic effect on my creative thinking abilities! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


