It is Our “Mission” to Please the Customer

April 9, 2011 at 3:24 pm 1 comment

When deciding to take the leap into creating your own business, there are many factors that come into play. You first must think about what you’re going to be doing, and how you’re going to make money. You need a solid business plan and a solid business model. Another aspect of your new business, which I never realized just how important it was until this year, is your business’ mission and vision statement. At many large corporations it is impossible to locate a mission statement or even find an employee who knows what their company stands for. A professor this semester discussed with me the mission statement at GM which she said was something about “working to make a profit.” Now, I’m all for working for money, but the sole reason your company is in business cannot be for money. A company that I believe has the right type of mission statement is Cold Stone Creamery. The Cold Stone Creamery mission statement can be found on their website. The first five words of their mission statement are “we will make people happy.” Their goal is not to make a profit or to have their annual figures be greater than their competitors, but it is to please their customers in such a way that they want to return to Cold Stone. If you walk into any Cold Stone their mission statement is tacked on the wall so that customers and employees alike, remember why Cold Stone is such a wonderful place to visit. The employees live by this statement and they strive to make every customer that walks through their doors happy with their choice of picking Cold Stone.

Many people believe that mission and vision statements are simply a tool that the company needs to have for certain paperwork or for showing to investors and stockholders, but this is the wrong idea. The mission and vision statement are vital to the growth of the business and to how a customer will feel when experiencing your product or service. Money is the end result, but it is the middle part that will help you reach that end result, and that middle part if your customers. In order to reach the end, customers need to be satisfied and happy and to do this, their needs have to come before your own. Every store that I go into, I shop at because of the way I feel as a customer or consumer. I do not go into stores or various service places where I know I will feel as though I am simply 1 out of 1000 that day. I want to feel unique and special when I am a customer and when I open my business, I intend on making each and every one of my customers feel the same. Have you ever been somewhere, where you felt like lowest priority on a business’ list? Or have you ever been somewhere, where the service was so amazing you actually left in a better mood? Do either of these stores has a mission statement?

 

Alexandra

Entry filed under: Creative Entrepreneurs, Etc., General Information, Tools/Resources.

Skinny Women Make More Money Josh Linkner Visit

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. alexandriamisr  |  April 18, 2011 at 2:34 am

    What I find a lot is employees complaining while customers are around. I find that so irritating. I don’t want to be in a store with a bunch of grumpy employees complaining about their job. Then they are upset when they are ringing my stuff up. There are also some who complain to me! This happens a lot at the place whose mission statement is…
    “Our mission is to enhance and integrate our supplier diversity programs into all of our procurement practices and to be an advocate for minority- and women-owned businesses.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


