Skinny Women Make More Money

March 29, 2011 at 7:33 am 4 comments

I joined Lifetime Fitness this weekend, and when I met with my trainer she wanted to know why I was trying to lose weight. I told her I had a few reasons. One of my reasons was that I am starting a business soon, and explained that I want to look good at my launch party. I also explained that I think people like doing business with good looking people. That is when she told me that she just read an article about skinny women and heavier men making more money http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2010/10/07/study-your-weight-affects-your-salary/.

Studies show that employers are willing to pay skinny women more money, than their heavier counterparts. Maybe employers think if a woman is skinny she cares more for herself, so she will care about her work. The exact reason for this is not clear, and some employers say it is not true. I had never heard of the study before, but knowing the way our society is I am not surprised. Whether or not I think this practice is fair does not matter if it what is being done. I just have to decide if I want my salary to be above or below average.

©2011 LIFE TIME FITNESS, Inc. All Rights Reserved

I really wonder why skinny women get paid more. Maybe it has to do more with the confidence skinny women have. I should look into the study more. Even though I am not trying to be employed by anyone right now, this is relevant because I will be representing my business. Now I am thinking that if my weight affects the amount of money I make, I should be able to add my gym membership to my business costs.

Can I add my gym fees into my business cost?

Why do you think skinny women get paid more?

Ruqiayah Madany

Entry filed under: Etc..

Boosting Business with Foursquare It is Our “Mission” to Please the Customer

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr. Evans  |  March 29, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Don’t forget to sign your posts!

    What an interesting study — interesting, too, that the converse is true for men!

    I don’t know what you mean by adding a gym membership to your “business costs” (things you can write off as an expense on your tax forms?) but I will say that anything you can do to improve your personal brand will also improve your business brand. Whether you lose weight or not, working out helps you stay healthy — entrepreneurs definitely do not get paid sick days! — and have the energy and confidence you need to network, market and run your business.

    I once had a trainer at Bally’s who literally ate Burger King once during our workout. Needless to say, I quickly left that gym for a place where the trainers took their work as seriously as I wanted to take mine.

    Reply
    • 2. alexandriamisr  |  April 3, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      Yes, I think if it is a proven fact that skinny people make more money, my gym membership should be part of my business cost that I could write off on my taxes. I could say I workout to be skinny so I will make more.

      Ruqiayah

      Reply
  • 3. Steven J Klein  |  April 7, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    a trainer at Bally’s who literally ate Burger King once during our workout.

    If the trainer was a guy, perhaps he was angling for a higher salary!

    Reply
  • 4. Nick George  |  April 7, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Ruqiayah,

    I could certainly believe that skinny people (women at that) could have a benefit when it comes to finding a job or their compensation. Although our organizations are not supposed to judge employment on these types of characteristics, I often find that this type of trend still exists today. I can recall working for retailers in the past were some women were hired because of their “attractiveness level” as opposed to the actual skill set they had for the job. Unfortunately, this is a sad but true state of the business world (in some places).

    However, I’d have to say that your recommendation of employers offering gym memberships to their employees is a great idea. I recently was watching a video conference with Kevin Rose (the founder of digg.com), and his ideas for “perks” businesses can provide their employees. The list included gym memberships, taxi allowances, paying for cell phones, and so on. These are often perks companies can provide for each employee under $100, and give the employee a little extra “motivation” to work hard.

    Nick

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


