It is Sconderful to be and Entrepreneur

March 21, 2011 at 5:19 pm 2 comments

Last week, our Creative Entrepreneur class had a guest speaker named Margaret Newton. She is a very well known photography and her clientele only continues to grow with each event she shoots. What I found so fascinating about her talk with us, was that she originally had no desire to be a photographer at all. She went from day to day, working at a job that really only got her from paycheck to paycheck. She had no passion in her work and it took an illness to give her the change in her life that she needed. She started off slow, shooting for advertisements and magazines all the while truly not having a clue of the amount of talent she had. After one wedding shoot, she fell in love with life and found her passion.

Copyright All rights reserved by Elín Elísabet

This to me, is a true entrepreneur. We set goals for ourselves every single day and we look towards the future hoping that one day these dreams of ours may come true. We think of how successful we will be and how happy we will be, but the truth is, it is okay to stumble for a while. To be a true entrepreneur I think it is necessary to hear “wrong”, “no”, and “that’s a terrible idea” many times. I also think that it is important to fail because it is only with those failures that we can really appreciate the successes that we eventually accomplish. When I look down the road to my future I see success and I see my business thriving and I also see myself happy, however, there are many parts of that future where I can see myself shaking with fear and devastated from failure. I do not accept the road to my passion to be an easy one, but I think a true entrepreneur accepts that because they know that in order for them to be happy in life, they have to do what they love. Whether it be cooking, or creating video games or creating photography, we want to work for ourselves and create our own future, not let someone else determine it for us. It is a scary, frightening as hell though, but in the end, I know it will all be worth it. Thank you Margaret for your words of wisdom! Good luck to you!

Alexandra

Entry filed under: Etc..

Our Recent Guestrepreneur What is in a name?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruqiayah Madany  |  March 28, 2011 at 12:39 am

    Being an entrepreneur is scary, and not many people think of doing it. There some people who are content with following and working their lives away for other people, but I am not one of them. I plan to launch my business this summer, and if I am successful great and if not I will keep trying. I am bubbling with business ideas!

    Reply
  • 2. alexandraheight  |  April 9, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    That’s great Ruqiayah! I think you have a solid business plan for yourself and I also think it will be important for you to really focus on the cultural aspect. I’ll be excited to check it out once your website it up and running! Remember also, be sure to focus on only a few ideas at once otherwise you can become overwhelmed. I think this is the best advice I’ve received from entrepreneurs in the past.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


