Making Money

March 7, 2011 at 9:20 pm Leave a comment

When I decided to start my business, it was not about making money. I was thinking about a way I could help the Muslim community. In The Art of the Start, Guy Kawasaki talks about Making Meaning. He says “Meaning is not about money, power, or prestige.” I only wanted to charge  a minimal fee, so only serious people would sign up. Now I am thinking about not charging at all to use the website. I think more people will be able to benefit if the service is free, and that they will see the benefit of the service instead of thinking I am just selling something.

I am thinking of other ways my website can make money. I found this article Making Money From Your Website Using Advertising http://www.entrepreneurs-journey.com/105/making-money-from-your-website-using-advertising/. The information was very helpful, but I have a few concerns. Advertising works best when there is a large number of visitors to the site, and I would not have that in the beginning. Also it would be up to me to find ads appropriate for the site, and do people like advertisements flashing in front of them.

I have not decided on which route I will take yet, but trying to figure  out the sales and pricing for my business has had me thinking about it. Websites cost money to run, so I will need to make money somehow.

Would people rather pay for a service or be bombarded with advertisements?

Are there any other ways to make money?

Ruqiayah Madany

Entry filed under: Etc..

A Show Dealing With Entrepreneurship True Social Responsibility

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


