Chocolate and Peanut Butter Concept

March 6, 2011 at 9:03 pm 3 comments

Last week, on my way home from up north, I decided to take the route I do not usually take. My normal way home was blocked with rush hour traffic and was not in the mood to sit in the car for an hour. On the drive home I saw something that forced me to pull over and stare. Sitting in the center of a small strip mall in the town of Escanaba, MI was a store titled “Sudz n Sun.” My first thought was that of confusion. I understood the “Sudz” section of the title, assuming it was of course a Laundromat. The “Sun” part was truly what made me stop.

Copyright All rights reserved by adayinthelife

For that past few weeks our class has been discussing the “peanut butter and chocolate” concept in which you take two services or products that normally would not fit together, and you put them together to create something entirely new. “Sudz n Sun” must have heard our discussion because this is exactly what they have done. The company combined a Laundromat with a tanning salon. This was the first time I had ever heard of a store like this or even thought about what a genius idea it really was. When people are doing their laundry in a shop, there is nothing for them to do but sit and wait, however, “Sudz n Sun” gives them the opportunity to take time for themselves during their wait, and creates an additional profit in the process. They created a blue ocean strategy that I have yet to see duplicated. If I lived in the area and there was a choice between a wide selection of Laundromats, I would without a doubt, choose Sudz n Sun” because I complete a necessary task, while basking in substitute sun.

Alexandra

Entry filed under: Etc..

The experience, not the thing! A Show Dealing With Entrepreneurship

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alexandriamisr  |  March 7, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    That is really cool! Laundrymats usually only have TVs. Were there a lot of people in there? Do you think people go there just to tan?

    Reply
    • 2. alexandraheight  |  March 8, 2011 at 3:26 pm

      I would be that many people would go there just to tan. It is such a revolutionary idea. What could make a boring two hours of doing laundry better? Taking a tanning break. I was not able to stop in to the store the first time I saw it, however, I will be passing through in just a few days again and I hope to have some time to swing by. Thank you for your questions!

      Reply
  • 3. amapes  |  March 14, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    An even better thought to the idea would be a gym added to that. Correct me if I am wrong but laundry takes a few hours and tanning is only a few minutes. If it were a gym more time could be killed working out while waiting. Just another idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


