It’s all about the network

February 10, 2011 at 4:14 pm 1 comment

One of the greatest things that I have been exposed to since coming to Lawrence Tech is the network of people that my professors and even classmates have been able to connect me with.  Securing a job after graduation is something that everyone is nervous about, but I can honestly say that I feel prepared thanks to the networking that I’ve been able to do in school, as well as the networking events that I have coming up!

On Monday I received a call from Crain’s Detroit Business letting me know that I had won their Newsmaker of the Year Scholarship Competition!  Needless to say I was ecstatic about the money, but the opportunities that will be available for me to network at such an event are unbelievable, especially as someone who is looking into the Communications/PR/Event management field.

Additionally, I also received news that there is a Public Relations & Communications Job Fair coming up!  Needless to say there will be tons of people there who will be great networking connections.

I’m excited about my path as an entrepreneur and I’m very interested in meeting people who can help me along my journey, as well as meeting people who I may be able to help with the little bit of experience that I’ve gained thus far.  I’ve been fortunate enough to have some outstanding mentors, and I’m always on the lookout for new mentors, whose expertise I can learn from as well.

Entry filed under: Creative Entrepreneurs, Events, General Information.

Guestrepreneur: Danielle Brycz Working for Free

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nick George  |  February 14, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Great post! I would have to agree with you that networking is a important component, no matter if you are an entrepreneur or seeking a professional career. You are also very fortunate to be able to network with your professors. A great opportunity I had to network was part of the competition I’m involved in at the Microsoft Imagine Cup. A few weeks ago they held an evenet to share everyone’s ideas and I was able to meet some people that worked for Microsoft! Although this may not lead to a job opportunity right now, it is great to make these contacts because you never know what can happen in the future. Even if you are working at an employer now, one thing I discussed with the people at Microsoft is to never burn your bridges. Even if you may be really frustrated in a current position you are in and never want to work with what you are doing, you never know when this could come to haunt you. You should always to your best to keep a professional reputation with your peers both on campus and in the workplace. You never know when the person you work for right now could be your biggest client or boss 5-10 years from now.

    Congratulations on the scholarship and newly found networking opportunities!

    -Nick

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


