I’m an Entrepreneur?

February 1, 2011 at 6:21 pm 1 comment

Throughout my life I’ve never had any dreams of opening my own business or being a business owner of any type. I’ve never been an entrepreneurial person throughout my lifetime. When I first registered for the course Creative Entrepreneurship I thought that it’s just a requirement for my minor and I just need to take it and get it over with. However, after some of the readings and the discussion in the course my view on Creative Entrepreneurship has changed.

Since I’m a Molecular and Cellular Biology major there isn’t really a business that I could open that would use the knowledge I have gained through school. However, I never thought of the need to be entrepreneurial for a product and how that could relate to my major. When we started to discuss the idea pitch in class the example we observed involved an idea pitch for a new pharmaceutical to help with osteoporosis. That’s when I realized that if ever in my research that if I create a product to help with illness or disease that I’m going to have to promote it and show that it is the better product.

This video is a perfect example of what I might be involved in some day. This had me thinking about the readings and the information given, and how it applies to me promoting a future product that I may create. The most helpful readings for this purpose have been the “Art of the Start” by Guy Kawasaki and “Made to Stick” by Chip Heath and Dan Heath.

Learning this information has definitely changed my perception on Creative Entrepreneurship and it makes me more interested in learning the concepts of entrepreneurship.

Cyrus

Entry filed under: Creative Entrepreneurs, Etc..

Creative is Collaborative: A Day on the Bench Opportunity In the Market

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. teffen  |  February 2, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I’m of the opinion that anyone can become an entrepreneur with enough dedication and desire. The road to self-employment is becoming smoother everyday and the only thing standing between you and your own business is your attitude.

    If you work hard enough, I’m sure you’ll succeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


