Becoming Entrepreneurial

January 29, 2011 at 4:43 pm 2 comments

So how does it begin? Is there a formula? Can I flip a switch? What does it take to become the entrepreneur that generates the greatest social change, the profound business solution, the simple idea made great?

I don’t know but I want to learn. Looking at my past suggests the origin of this interest.

As a child, I always was fascinated with the real world, at least my impressions of it. I thrived on curiosity, my interests in history and technology (old and new) where an everyday part of my life. I listened to the history of others, imagined  what I cold not see, and emulated what was exciting. One time I set out with my siblings, on a round the world adventure that started at the front door and ended at the back. Nevertheless, during this journey we encountered great danger, overcame  challenges, and surmounted the impossible  all with simple things like pillowcases, sticks, stones, ropes and buckets etc. Each object was modified in the imagination to suite our needs. In hindsight,  my youth has the stirrings of entrepreneurial spirit. I learned what a could, took what I didn’t have made it, and set out with great determination.

My first real entrepreneurial venture was an after school janitorial job at a small private school. I learned the process, found a way to make it faster, and soon was running to the bank with what I thought was a great paycheck. What did I learn? That I can do anything, it just takes careful observation, a commitment to quality, and a drive for profit.  I have since started and run a successful design build, renovation company. I have learned much, and am still curious for more.

Today, I am an Architecture major with a greatly expanded interest in the real world, making an honest buck, and having fun using my imagination. I plan to use my time in Creative Entrepreneurship to develop and grow the skills ( and idea) needed to become a successful entrepreneur. I plan to learn how to mature the simple idea into a functional and profitable solution. I want to learn about the worlds of finance, management, law, and IT. I want to take the building blocks of understanding, and generate the newest change, solve the big problem, and build my great idea.

Entry filed under: Etc..

There is No Such Thing as a Perfect Mission Statement Creative is Collaborative: A Day on the Bench

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nick George  |  January 31, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    I admire your experience and your desire to learn more! Like you, I have this entrepreneurial spirit inside me, but I am trying to figure out if it is worth pursuing. One of the biggest challenges i have to overcome if the ability to take the risk involved with starting my own business. I know what I want to do, but I need to figure out how I can be noticed. How can I make my idea interesting enough so that people will want to do business with me? These are some of the concerns and questions I hope to answer this semester. Honestly, they will be my challenge. The only creativity that comes to me is from my technical expertise; when it comes to business or thinking “outside the box” on other non-technical issues, I am often lost at sea. Just like you are hoping, I hope to pursue the same skills and help develop my idea to be a successful entrepreneur.

    Another thing that comes to mind is everyone can define “successful entrepreneur” differently. A successful entrepreneur to one could be having a business that is running strong enough to be a salary-replacement. Others could interpret “successful entrepreneur” as one that launches a multi-million dollar corporation. Could our definition or perception of an “successful entrepreneur” be hindering our motivation, or is it driving it?

    Reply
  • 2. Nate  |  February 1, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    I think its a range. I know there are days that I just want my ideas to make me comfortable. But then there are day that I want my ideas to achieve the impossible. Being a successful entrepreneur is having the idea that does all the above. In my opinion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


