There is No Such Thing as a Perfect Mission Statement

January 28, 2011 at 7:30 pm 2 comments

As a management student and a future entrepreneur, I am always challenged to research companies that will one day be competition for me. It is important to be aware of the competition as well as respect what they are able to do well, and recognize what you could do better. I chose to research Nino Salvaggio International Marketplace in St. Clair Shores as my future competition. While I was doing research online it occurred to me that I had yet to find a mission statement that represented their company. Nino Salvaggio is an amazing marketplace with high quality foods and all homemade items. It is not just a grocery store, every time you step into the doors and experience is created. The store envelopes you in warmth and exciting smells. Every item of food from the meat section to their vast cheese selection and to the homemade baked goods, scream nothing but quality.

Because I was unable to find their mission statement through research, I decided to go straight to the source and call the store. One of Nino Salvaggio’s staples in their company, is that their customers are their number one priority. Many companies choose to say this, but rarely do they apply it to their business practices; Nino’s does. When I called the store it was immediately answered by a person, not a machine, and she sat on the phone with me for over 20 minutes discussing their mission statement and how they are always striving to achieve it. She not only answered my question, but she went above and beyond to make me, a customer, happy with the service I was receiving, even over the phone.

I believe that their mission statement is everything Blue Ocean Strategy says a successful mission should be. It is forward, clear, customer oriented while still remembering their owners, and it is forward looking and positive. The missiong statement for Nino Salvaggio as stated by the customer service representative on the phone at the St. Clair Shores store is the following:

 “Nino Salvaggio International Marketplace is a leader in produce and gourmet products and services. Our mission is to continually improve our products and services to meet our customers needs, allowing us to prosper as a business and to provide a reasonable return for our stockholders, the owners of our business.”

Copyright All rights reserved by Draconum 

According to the many management According to the many mcourses that I have taken at Lawrence, I would have to say that this mission statement is nearly perfect. They are a company that lives through their mission statement every day and they are a business that does it very well. As a future entrepreneur, I am hopeful when I see that a business can be both for their owners but also for their customers. Nino Salvaggio is a company I plan to research much further and continue learning how to make my business better.

Alexandra

Entry filed under: Creative Entrepreneurs, Etc..

Becoming Entrepreneurial

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  January 31, 2011 at 12:12 am

    What a great experience! So cool that they were willing to talk this over with you.

    How would you boil that mission statement down to a mantra, as Guy Kawasaki does in “Art of the Start?” Now that you know their mission statement, does it make you as a customer more/less likely to shop there — or have no effect?

    Reply
    • 2. Alexandra  |  February 1, 2011 at 10:21 am

      It was really great. I have project for my strrategic management course and I am going to use this company to do a strategic audit on. Now only will it help me get to know a company and a store that I visit very frequently, but it will be of great use to view possible competition for my future plans.

      If I were to boil down their mission statement to a mantra, I think I would say, “International farmers market on steroids.” I suppose leaving off the steroids part would still make it a very powerful mantra, but with it, I feel it represents how forward looking and how creative they truly are. Their food is all homemade and the international flavor brought in from fruits, vegetables, meats and fish is astounding when one sees it for the first time.

      As a customer of Nino’s, their mission statement makes me like them as a company only more. The fact that someone was willing to sit on the phone with me an explain the mission statement as well as how they live it on a daily basis was absolutely amazing. That customer service alone represented that they are their for their customers needs. It is an amazing store that creates an experience and pulls you out of the mundane shopping trip, to allow you to explore other worlds. I will always be a loyal customer… (that is until my store ultimately becomes better).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


