Community will get you everywhere.

January 25, 2011 at 7:32 pm 1 comment

I run an accidental business.

After playing Minecraft, a multiplayer Lego-esq game, for a few months, I grew tired of poorly run servers that couldn’t support their users or their software. Long story short, I opened my own server and started taking donations to keep it alive. Eventually I just dedicated my time to the server to keep it running better than any other.

Donations became profits and fueled my interest in my hobby but I questioned why people stuck with me instead of another server. Despite the difficulties learning how to run a server, it was all for fun or so I thought. I hadn’t realized just how much work I had put into the game; the game literally became a part time job. People stay on my server because of the work that goes into making a great game. The community and I keep each other strong and it’s a wonderful way to do business.

I enjoy my work and I love what service I provide for my players. If I learned one thing from my experience it is to truly be proud of your work and provide a service that you believe in.

-Eric

Entry filed under: Journeys of a Studentpreneur.

Dilbert Gets the Blue Ocean Procrastination

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nick George  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Eric, I can definitely relate to you. Although I haven’t started any game servers, I started repairing computers and helping people with their technology because it was something I enjoyed. At first, it was just doing a favor for a friend or two; before I knew it I was at michigan.gov filing articles of incorporation for a computer repair business.

    As you mentioned, I believe that part of entrepreneurship is doing something you love. Although we are told to work for someone and do something we enjoy, that always doesn’t work out as intended. however, starting your own business should be something you love doing. It may not be that you have a passion for “running the business,” but you should enjoy the product/service you are providing for customers. It sounds to me that you’re definitely on the right track to finding work that you enjoy.

    -Nick

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS #COM3113 on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


